Inaugural Toby Awards Given Out
Inaugural Toby Awards Given Out
Tuesday, May 2, 2017

MARSHALL, Texas - The East Texas Baptist University athletic department held its inaugural TOBYs Award Show Wednesday night, April 26, in Baker Chapel on campus honoring the 2016-17 endeavors of its student-athletes in front of coaches, staff, families, and community members.
"The inaugural TOBYs was a huge hit and great success, as we celebrated the achievements of our teams and student-athletes with our biggest fans and supporters," Vice President for Athletics Ryan Erwin said. "I appreciate all the hard work and countless hours from the ETBU media relations staff that went into making this event a reality. We are also grateful for the continued support of ETBU by so many individuals and are looking forward to continued success of all our athletic programs."

The event featured 19 department awards honoring the best in Tiger athletics for 2016-17, while special awards designated for each of ETBU’s 20 teams were given out.
The award show, featured highlight videos, top plays from the year, and the awards presented to Tiger student-athletes by their peers. Award recipients for the TOBYs were nominated by coaches and chosen by a selection committee.
The Fan of the Year is awarded annually to the fan that best represents the spirit of the Tigers at sporting events and in the community and has a undeniable passion for ETBU Athletics.
Mike and Leska Papas were honored as the fan of the year and accepted the award to a standing ovation and cheers from everyone in attendance. Coach Papas is a key member of the ETBU Athletic Department, serving as Strength and Conditioning Coach, and he and his wife are a staple in the Tiger athletic family and continue to be two of the top ETBU supporters.
Along with the team awards, student-athletes presented awards in categories of Hogue Servant Leadership Award, Courage Award, Best Supporting Role, Rookie of the Year, Highlight of the Year, Tiger Spirit Award, Most Valuable Tiger, Craig Christian Athlete, Sportsmanship Award, and the All-Academic Team.


Below are the winners of the 2017 Toby Awards Show.


2016-2017 Awards and Winners

ASC Scholar-Athlete Medal of Honor
Kate Bramlett

Cody Blankenship


Hogue Servant Leadership Award
Erin Miller

Zach Ervin


Courage Award

Kayla Green

Robby Dooley


Best Supporting Role

Hannah Crisp

Matt Argenbright


Rookie of the Year

Elisa Kendall

Nick Bozzuto


Highlight of the Year

Kate Bramlett

Dru Smith


Tiger Spirit Award

Tyler Hickingbottom


Most Valuable Tiger Award

Jayme Perez

Connor Combs


Craig Christian Athlete Award

Lauren Lee

Ramiro Mendez


Sportsmanship Award

Katy Hill

Beau Billings


Top Tiger Fan
Mike and Leska Papas


Women's Soccer Most Outstanding Player

Nathalia Lomax


Men's Soccer Timothy Award

Thomas Sanford


Volleyball MVP

Mallory Sanders


Men's Cross Country Top Runner Award

Beau Billings


Women's Cross Country Top Runner Award

Shelby Taylor-Spencer


Football MVP

Tyler Scott


Women's Basketball Tiger Heart Award

Lauren Lee


Men's Basketball Tiger Heart Award

Dylan Augustine


Softball Heart of a Tiger

Linzie Lewis


Baseball Player of Excellence

Zach Gartner


Men's Tennis MVP

Cody Highsmith


Women's Tennis MVP

Kate Bramlett


Men's Track and Field Excellence Award

Cody Blankenship


Women's Track and Field Excellence Award

Shelby Sparks


Hockey Lady Byng Award

Alec Shea


Pom Most Outstanding Award

Emily Shaver


Cheer Heart of a Champion

Natile Orr


Women's Rugby MVP

Harleigh Parrish


Men's Rugby Heart and Hustle Award

Cade Gray


All-Academic Team (top GPA on the team)

Noah Batts – Bass Fishing

Alexandra Wood – Cheer

Travis Danford – Football

Dylan Sumpter – Baseball

Jordan Gray – Men’s Basketball

Nathanael Whisman – Men’s Cross Country

Corey Dorsey – Men’s Rugby

Joseph Bruner – Men’s Soccer

Cody Highsmith – Men’s Tennis

Cody Blankenship – Men’s Track and Field

Michael Garvie – Ice Hockey

Destiny Hibbler – Tiger Pom

Kelsey Dagle – Women’s track and Field

Harleigh Parrish – Women’s Rugby

Cristal Monzon-Hernandez – Women’s Soccer

Katelyn Cooper – Softball

Elisa Kendall – Women’s Tennis

Bailey Byas – Women’s Volleyball

Shelby Taylor – Women’s Cross Country

Lauren Lee – Women’s Basketball