NOMINEE: Perez Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year
NOMINEE: Perez Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year
Thursday, June 29, 2017

MARSHALL, Texas -- A record 543 female college athletes have been nominated by NCAA member schools for the 2017 NCAA Woman of the Year award. East Texas Baptist University softball player Jayme Perez is up for the prestigious award.

Perez (Senior/Austin, TX) was named an NFCA First Team All-American and is the only four time All-American in ETBU athletics history. She was also named a CoSIDA Academic All-American and was given the NCAA minority post-graduate scholarship. She received numerous American Southwest Conference awards including being a four-time All-ASC first-team selection. She also finishes in the top 10 at ETBU in 10 different categories for softball.

Established in 1991 and now in its 27th year, the NCAA Woman of the Year award honors graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves in academics, athletics, service and leadership throughout their collegiate careers.

The school nominees represent all three NCAA divisions, with 229 from Division I, 117 from Division II and 197 from Division III. The nominees competed in 21 different women’s sports, and 122 were multisport athletes during their time in college.

The NCAA encourages member schools to honor their top graduating female student-athletes each year by submitting their names for consideration for the Woman of the Year award.

Next, conferences will select up to two conference nominees each from the pool of school nominees. The Woman of the Year selection committee, made up of representatives from the NCAA membership, will then choose the top 30 honorees — 10 from each division.

From the top 30, the selection committee determines the top three honorees from each division and announces the nine finalists in September. The NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics then chooses the 2017 NCAA Woman of the Year from those nine.

The top 30 honorees will be recognized and the 2017 NCAA Woman of the Year will be announced at the annual award ceremony Oct. 22 in Indianapolis.