November 03, 20161st2nd3rdFinal
East Texas Baptist1919180
Texas Dallas2525253
.111Hitting Pct..212
117Total Attacks146
Mallory Sanders - 9
KillsAbbie Barth - 14
Kayla Green - 13
AssistsCaroline Shecterle - 23
Morgan Rupp - 1
AcesCaroline Shecterle - 1
Dylan Brinkman - 1
Lauren Schilling - 1
Aimee Wilhelm - 1
Kayla Green - 19
DigsDylan Brinkman - 13
Britni Mosher - 7
BlocksEmma Wallbrown - 5
Holyn Handley - 5
Lauren Schilling - 5
RECAP: ETBU Drops in 2nd Round to UTD
RECAP: ETBU Drops in 2nd Round to UTD
Thursday, November 3, 2016

BELTON, Texas – In their second match of the day, the East Texas Baptist University volleyball team fell to #3 University of Texas at Dallas 3-0 (19-25, 19-25, 18-25) to go 1-1 on the first day of the American Southwest Conference Tournament. Texas Dallas improves to 27-1 overall and wins their 22nd straight match. ETBU falls to 11-13 overall on the year.

All three sets were close in the contest until Texas Dallas pulled away at the end of the sets. Texas Dallas won the first set 25-19 with 18 kills. In set two, Texas Dallas won 25-19 again, this time with 20 kills as a team. The Comets won set three with 13 kills as a team and 25-18 over ETBU.

Abbie Barth led Texas Dallas with 14 kills and Dylan Binkman finished with 12 kills. Brinkman and Barth finished with double-doubles after recording 13 kills and 11 kills respectively. Caroline Shecterle led Texas Dallas with 23 assists and Fayna Zeng finished with 21 assists of her own. Texas Dallas hit .212 as a team and had 10 blocks as a team.

Mallory Sanders led ETBU with nine kills and Syndey Lopez added seven kills of her own. Kayla Green added a double-double after making a match high 19 digs and assisting on 13 kills. Lauren Jarrell and Morgan Rupp added 12 digs each. Elyse Shaw posted 10 assists and Britni Mosher led the match with seven blocks. ETBU was held to a .111 hitting percentage and had nine team blocks.

ETBU will return to action at 12:00 p.m. versus Howard Payne University in an elimination game. The winner of that match will continue to compete for the ASC Tournament Championship at 7:30 against either Hardin-Simmons University or the loser of the match between Texas-Tyler and Mary Hardin-Baylor.